Fantastic Bread Pudding

I’ll be the first to admit.  Bread pudding is not my favorite thing in the world.  It’s a texture thing for me.  I like my bread dry.  When I make an egg bake, I use potatoes.  But, I love a gooey cinnamon roll or monkey bread, so when my uncle started talking about bread pudding on Christmas Day and my mom mentioned my aunt Kathy’s recipe in the family cookbook, I thought this was probably the opening for which I’d been seeking.  Maybe making my own bread pudding would make a difference.

So, after family had left, I found the recipe in the cookbook and was delighted that we had most of the ingredients.  When we went to the grocery store, I picked up the remaining ingredients and moved forward.  I did make a few modifications, based on the way that some of the restaurants in the area make their bread pudding, and I’ve noted the changes to the recipe through my edits below.

bread pudding

Fantastic Bread Pudding

6 oz loaf French bread, with crust  5 cinnamon rolls
2 c milk
2 eggs
1 c sugar
1 stick margarine/butter, melted
1 Tbsp vanilla
¼ c raisins I also added: ¼ c craisins + ¼ c golden raisins
1 ½ Tbsp butter/margarine, melted

Bread should not be fresh.  Break bread into 1 inch pieces, and place in a large bowl.  Pour milk over and allow bread to soak it up.  Add eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, and raisins.  Mix well.  Butter a dish that will allow pudding to be about 1 1/2 inch thick.  Bake at 350 degrees about 45 minutes, or until firm and golden brown.  Cool and pour sauce over each serving and place under broiler until heated a bit.  Serve with Whiskey Sauce or Lemon Sauce.

Whiskey Sauce:

1 c sugar
1 egg
1 stick butter, melted
2 or 3 oz whiskey

Stir first three ingredients until sugar is dissolved, then add whiskey.

Lemon Sauce:

2 Tbsp butter
1 c sugar
¼ c white corn syrup
Juice of 2 lemons
1 c water

Mix all ingredients together and boil about 15 minutes or until thickened.  *Either sauce will keep several days in refrigerator

Are there family recipes you’ve never tried baking before?  Any that are on your list to explore differently in 2015?

Leave a Reply

