Harvest Chicken Apple Stew

This fall has been complete with a trip to the apple orchard.  Last week, my parents stopped through between different events in Iowa and Missouri and I wanted to treat them to dinner at my place.  But, it was a pretty busy week and I assumed I would be in meetings until the end of the work day on the day they came over, so I decided to use my beloved crockpot.  I ate the leftovers through the weekend, but made Life as a Plate‘s Harvest Chicken Apple Stew, which I had pinned months ago and was anxious to try.  I thought it needed a little more salt than the recipe called for, but otherwise, it was a great meal to prep the night before and throw in the slow cooker over lunch.

Harvest Chicken Apple Stew #harvest #stew

A post shared by Gwen Schimek (@gwenschimek) on

Harvest Chicken Apple Stew

3-4 chicken breasts, diced
2 c chicken broth
1 medium onion, diced
2-3 medium apples, diced
1 Tbsp garlic, minced
1/2 tsp rosemary
1/2 tsp sage
1/2 tsp marjoram
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 c frozen corn
1 can green beans
2 c (1 can) canned pumpkin
1-2 Tbsp tapioca starch (I didn’t use this)

Place all ingredients except corn, beans, pumpkin, and tapioca starch in a crockpot.  Mix and set the crockpot on high for 4-6 hours or low for 6-8 hours.  About 30 minutes before serving, stir in the corn, green beans, and canned pumpkin.  Sprinkle in the tapioca until desired thickness is reached.

As I said, I liked the dish a lot.  I served it over rice.  We salted the stew a little more before eating, but beyond that, it was delicious!

Harvest Chicken Apple Stew

Leave a Reply

