Beer Cheese and Vegetable Soup

Over the weekend, I found some rotting onions in my produce bag — so I thought I should start getting rid of some more onions and potatoes.  Since I was having my love affair with the From Minnesota with Love cookbook series, I looked through to find a recipe I could use for dinner with this week and found a recipe for Beer Cheese and Vegetable Soup.  With all the ingredients on hand, except for milk, how could I say no?  So, during the week, I made this little ditty.

Beer Cheese and Vegetable Soup | I Will Make Crafts

Beer Cheese and Vegetable Soup | I Will Make Crafts

Beer Cheese and Vegetable Soup

3 c water
2 c diced potato
1 1/2 c chopped onion
1 c sliced carrot
1 c chopped celery
1/4 c butter or margarine
6 tsp instant chicken bouillon or 6 bouillon cubes
1/2 c flour
2 c milk
3 c shredded American cheese
1 tsp dry mustard
1/3 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 c beer

Combine water, vegetables, butter, and bouillon in large sauce pan.  Heat to boiling, reduce heat, cover and simmer 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender.  Combine flour and milk in small bowl; beat until smooth.  Gradually blend into simmering soup.  Add cheese, mustard and cayenne.  Cook and stir just until cheese melts.  Stir in beer; heat through.  (Real chicken broth can be used instead of bouillon and water).

10-12 servings

Leave a Reply

