Pride of Iowa Cookies

It’s nearly impossible to live in Iowa, look through a recipe book, and not make a recipe that is called Pride of Iowa Cookies.  This is another recipe I’ve had flagged for awhile, but haven’t made.  So, I decided to make them for the holiday season, because why not?  After tasting them, I would have identified them as Ranger Cookies, if you’ve ever had those before.

Pride of Iowa Cookies

Pride of Iowa Cookies

1 c brown sugar
1 c sugar
1/2 c butter
2 eggs
2 c flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 c coconut
3 c oatmeal
1/2 c nuts, chopped
1/2 c butterscotch chips

Mix the brown sugar, sugar, butter, vanilla, and eggs.  Add the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.  Blend in coconut, oatmeal, nuts and butterscotch chips.  Drop by teaspoons on cookie sheet.  Flatten with a fork.  Bake at 375 for about 8 minutes.

Dough may be stored in refrigerator overnight before baking.  This is preferable.  Yield: 3 to 4 dozen.

As noted by my high school family and consumer science teacher, whose recipe this is, “A good, hearty field lunch cookie.”

You’ll note from the photo that I neglected to flatten with a fork.  I also (intentionally) left out the nuts.

One thought on “Pride of Iowa Cookies

  1. Charlotte says:

    I was born and raised in Iowa and grew up on these cookies. Have always made them for my kids and now for my grandkids! Only difference when I make them: I use 1 cup of crisco instead of 1/2 cup butter. Plus we like choc chips!
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

