Rosemary Caramel Corn

I love popcorn.  Caramel corn, on the other hand, can be a love-hate for me.  There are times when I love it, and times when it’s not really my thing.  That being said, I’m always a fan of looking for an alternate caramel corn recipe and years ago I found this one and made it during a snowstorm.  I was going through photographs and found this one.  I’m excited to share it today!

rosemary caramel corn.jpg

Rosemary Caramel Popcorn

2 Tbsp coconut oil
1/2 c popcorn kernels, unpopped
1/2 stick unsalted butter (original recipe calls for an entire stick)
1/2 c maple syrup
1 1/2 Tbsp rosemary leaves
3/4 tsp flaked sea salt
1/4 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Place corn kernels and oil in a large pot over medium-high heat and cover.  Once kernels begin to pop, shake pot frequently; when popping slows to about 3 seconds between pops, remove from heat; uncover.  Transfer to a large bowl.  (Alternately, I used my air popper and popped the corn without the oil).

Cook butter and maple syrup in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring constantly until the mixture starts to turn amber (225 degrees, if you have a candy thermometer).

Remove form heat.  Stir in rosemary, salt, and baking soda.  Pour over popcorn mixture; toss to coat.  Spread onto a baking sheet.

Bake about 45 minutes or until dried.  Allow to cool and then break up into chunks before serving.  This popcorn can be stored in an airtight container for about 3 days.

Leave a Reply

