UFOs…

This weekend has been a weekend of UFOs…and not the flying kind.  Since finishing my doctorate a couple months ago (and finally having it accepted by the graduate school last week), people have asked me if it feels good to be done.  And, it does.  I have a few colleagues for whom I am cheering along and anticipating their completion, including a couple of my best friends who are a couple years behind me.  But, in a lot of ways, I do not feel like I’m done.  Instead, I am acutely aware of the things that I have started, but not completed over the course of the past five years.

Clearly, you have seen that I have been able to do more cooking over the past three months than I had for a long time.  I have also wanted to work on some other projects.  With the time change and nights having more light, I am hoping to be able to do more quilting and other items in the evenings.  This weekend, I finished a couple of UFOs — Un-Finished Objects.

First, I cleaned out my garage, used my smoker for the first time this winter, and used the grill.  I made a pie for our town’s Pi Day sale tomorrow (watch for a post coming for that).  I finished a 2,000 piece puzzle on which I had been working:

puzzle.png

And, I took an assessment of my unfinished projects for quilting and ordered backing so that I can move forward with quilting these together:

unfinished objects.png

Most excitedly, I am thrilled I remember the name of most of the fabric lines and was able to identify the only one I could not remember by the end of the weekend.  So, look forward to more posts about these quilts as I finish them up over next several months.

The final project I wrapped up over the weekend is a surprise, as it is a gift I have been working on for some great friends of mine.  But, here’s a little sneak preview of the quilt I wrapped up this evening:

charm pack.png

Winding the bobbin. #sewing #100hoursproject

A post shared by Gwen Schimek (@gwenschimek) on

I hope you also enjoyed your weekend and are able to work on some of your own UFOs over the past week or so…

One thought on “UFOs…

Leave a Reply

