Southern-Style Deviled Eggs

Last week I made Classic Deviled Eggs from Saveur’s The New Classics Cookbook, but what I didn’t share was that my intention had been to make Southern-Style Deviled Eggs on the same page.  It was after I realized I had picked up pickle relish but not used it that I remembered I was going to do this recipe.  So, over the weekend, I decided to mix up the southern-style deviled eggs.  Both were great.  I like the Dijon-mustard these eggs offered and the sweetness of the pickle relish.  I’d make either recipe in the future.

Southern-Style Deviled Eggs

Southern-Style Deviled Eggs

12 hard cooked eggs
4 Tbsp Durkee Famous Sauce, or 1-2 Tbsp each of mayonnaise and Dijon mustard
2 Tbsp sweet pickle relish
1/2 tsp paprika, plus more for garnish
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper, and Tobasco sauce, to taste

Gently peel eggs and halve each lengthwise.  Remove yolk from each egg half and transfer to a medium bowl.  Arrange whites on a large platter.

Using a fork, mash yolks.  Add Durkee sauce, relish, and paprika and season with salt, pepper, and Tobasco.  Stir vigorously with rubber spatula until smooth.

Transfer mixture to a piping bag fitted with a plain tip and pipe into egg whites.  Garnish eggs with more paprika, if you’d like.  Serve cold or at room temperature.

One thought on “Southern-Style Deviled Eggs

Leave a Reply

