Fruit Cobbler

 

My parents came to visit a couple weeks ago and help me because I had a big branch fall from a tree in my yard during a storm.

I needed some help getting these cut up and they needed to drop some things off at my house, so a week ago they came and helped me pile up a bunch of branches in my front yard.

I put together a little lunch after our outside work (did I mention that at this time the heat index was well over 100 degrees due to the humidity?)

I made a number of items, including this Fruit Cobbler from the Trail Blazers: Favorite Recipes of the Sierra Cedar Wapsie Group cookbook.

fruit cobbler.jpg

Fruit Cobbler

2-3 c fruit
1/2 c sugar
1 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 c milk
1 c sugar
1 c boiling water

Place fruit in the bottom of a well-greased baking dish (9×9 in).  Mix remaining ingredients together (except for the 1 c sugar and boiling water).  Pour batter evenly over fruit.  Sprinkle with sugar.  Pour over all 1 c water (do not stir).  Bake in a 375-degree oven until crusty and brown, 1 hour or less.  Serve with ice cream.

Recipe can be doubled to make a 9×13 inch pan.

One thought on “Fruit Cobbler

Leave a Reply

