Olive Oil and Cornmeal Cake with Blackberries

I woke up the other morning wanting to make a cake.  I knew I wanted something quick and easy and that could be made with ingredients I (mostly) had on hand.  Luckily, I love my grocery store at 6:00 in the morning when no one else is there.

I served this cake alongside the Sausage Burgers with Sriracha Honey Mustard.  The original recipe came from the Good Neighbor Cookbook.  It didn’t call for the blackberries, but I decided to add them and help give a little more oomph to the cake.

I was talking about it the next day at work and I don’t think my coworker could believe cornmeal and olive oil were in it, so I ran home over lunch and grabbed the cake.  I served it all around the building.  One of the folks with whom I work shared he loves both cornbread and olive oil and gave the cake a positive grade, so I am guessing the recipe is probably a keeper.

Olive Oil and Cornmeal Cake with Blackberries

Olive Oil and Cornmeal Cake with Blackberries

1 c flour
1/2 c cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
3 large eggs
1 c sugar
8 oz container creme fraiche (or sour cream)
3/4 c extra-virgin olive oil
1 package blackberries

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly oil and flour a 9-inch cake pan, tapping out the excess flour, and line the bottom with parchment paper, or oil and flour a 9-inch springform pan.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, and creme fraiche.  While whisking, slowly drizzle in the olive oil.  Add the flour mixture and whisk until just combined (do not overmix).  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 40 to 50 minutes.  Let cool for at least 30 minutes on a wire rack before unmolding.

If using a cake pan, invert the cake onto a plate, remove the parchment and invert again to serve the cake top side up.  For the springform pan, remove the ring and use a spatula to slide the cake onto a plate.

2 thoughts on “Olive Oil and Cornmeal Cake with Blackberries

Leave a Reply

