Peanut Butter Cheesecake Brownie Bars

When I was home visiting the family earlier this month, my mom shared these super rich peanut butter cheesecake brownie bars.  As a non-coffee drinker, I found myself cutting the sweetness with a diet coke.  I think that was last dessert I’ve eaten and the last diet coke I drank.  I’ve been on a bit of a detox as we enter into the academic year since the week of desserts, where we were eating all the desserts left and right.

As a last dessert, this one served me pretty well.  I don’t know that I’ve eaten something this rich in a long time.  And all the sugar.  Really, everyone should have these at least once in their life, but that might be the only time someone decides to eat them.  So, the next time you’re looking for something that is over-the-top delicious, you should consider making these.

My mom originally printed the recipe from the A Savory Feast blog.  They look even more scrumptious on their web site.  Peanut Butter Cheesecake Brownie Bars.jpg

Peanut Butter Cheesecake Brownie Bars

1 (9×13 inch family size) brownie mix (plus eggs, oil, and water called for on the box)
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 c creamy peanut butter
2 c powdered sugar
1/3 c milk
8 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Mix and bake the brownies according to the directions on the box.  Allow the brownies to cool completely.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the cream cheese and peanut butter.  Add in the powdered sugar and milk, a little at a time.  Mix until smooth and creamy.

Spread the peanut butter mixture on top of the brownies.

Chop the peanut butter cups into small chunks.  Sprinkle the chunks on top of the peanut butter layer.

Refrigerate for an hour or more before cutting into bars and serving.

Leave a Reply

