Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies

Before I get too far, let me tell you I don’t know who Brooke is.  Apparently, Brooke is the user who submitted this brownie recipe to the AllRecipes site.  I was cleaning through my folder of printed recipes a few weeks ago before one of my colleagues brought her family over for dinner and I had all of the ingredients on hand, so it was an easy choice to make.

As I was mixing the recipe together, I was reminded of a family story about my aunt and uncle as young newlyweds.  This is one of those stories that I’m unsure the level of truth with it, but in some ways, I don’t care because it is such a great demonstration of love for one’s partner.  In this instance, I had an uncle and aunt who were newly married.  As she cooked various meals, at some point she made a pan of brownies.  My uncle commented that they were great, but not the same as his mom’s.  (We all have those family favorites where you need to have the recipe you were raised eating, right?)  Well, my aunt, wanting to provide him with something special, tried brownie recipe after brownie recipe over and over, unable to find one that tasted the way he remembered.  Finally, she succumbed to the puzzle and reached out to her new mother-in-law to ask for the recipe.  The secret?  The brownies came from a box.

Isn’t that story kind of fantastic?  Sometimes we look for a complicated solution to a problem when an easy answer is right in front of us.  That being said, here’s the brownie recipe I made for these folks coming over.

Brooke's Best Brownies.jpg

Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies

1 c butter, melted
3 c sugar
1 Tbsp vanilla
4 eggs
1 1/2 c flour
1 c cocoa powder
1 tsp salt
1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan.

Combine the melted butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each, until thoroughly blended.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, and salt.  Gradually stir the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Spread batter into the 9×13 in pan.

Bake until inserted toothpick comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes.  Remove, and cool pan on wire rack before cutting.

One thought on “Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies

Leave a Reply

