Never Fail Cookies

Every once in awhile, I find a cookbook that makes me believe that I will find a gazillion recipes within it.  The Bachman Employee Club Cookbook, entitled “A Family A-Fare” was easily one of these.  How could you not love this cookbook:

Bachman Cookbook

The pages are color-coded orange, yellow, and tan, and put together very simply.  And yet, each of these recipes look like something that should be brought to a potluck or made when company comes over.

For today’s recipe, I knew I had to make a recipe that was called Never Fail Cookies.  I was intrigued by the name, intrigued by the ingredients, and decided it was time to make them to help us start the academic year.  I don’t think I’ve made a recipe that used butter and shortening ever.  What impressed me about these is how well they held their shape.  I ended up baking a batch of them and then freezing the rest so that when guests come over or someone wants a cookie, I can quickly bake a couple of them at a time.

Never Fail Cookies.jpg

Never Fail Cookies

1 c brown sugar
1 c sugar
1/2 c butter
1/2 c shortening
2 eggs
1 tsp lemon extract
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cream of tartar
3 1/4 c flour

Combine all ingredients.  You can divide the dough and add nuts, dates, and chocolate chips.  Roll dough into balls and make until brown at 350 degrees.

Leave a Reply

