Honey Mounds

As I was digging through the recipe box, I was searching through the “Cookies and Cakes” section to find the appropriate treat to bring to some colleagues at work and came across this recipe for Honey Mounds, which according to the notation, was first placed in Woman’s Day Christmas Issue in 1963.  While the article calls for the baker to use red and green sprinkles, I had to show a little school pride and use purple sprinkles!

The note on the recipe card stated, “rather a chewy cookie with good honey flavor.”  After I tasted them, I have to agree that this is an apt-description.

I was surprised at how little they spread when baking.  Mounds is a really perfect description for them.  Had I known this, I might have made the cookies a little smaller.  But, the folks I brought them to at work thought they tasted great, so the recipe is definitely worth keeping around.

honey mounds.jpg

Honey Mounds

1/3 c soft butter or margarine
1/3 c sugar
1 egg
2/3 c honey
1 tsp vanilla
2 2/3 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
sprinkles

Cream butter, sugar, egg, and honey.  Add vanilla.  Add flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.  Chill.  Roll into 1″ balls.  Then roll in sprinkles.  Place on cookie sheet and make in 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.  Makes about 3 1/2 dozen.

Leave a Reply

