Crusher Cookies

 

Last summer I was in Minnesota for the weekend and visited one of my favorite stores in the Twin Cities — Patina.  While I was there, I came across this awesome puzzle, which excited me the most because my hometown was a featured location, along with the Jolly Green Giant:

But, I also came across a cookbook called Twin Cities Chef’s Table.  I keep paging through the cookbook, looking for the perfect recipe to make.  When I came across the recipe for Crusher Cookies, from Sun Street Breads, I was intrigued by a recipe that would feature sugar cones as a key ingredient.  How could I not make them?

So, after a week of excitement on-campus, I was ready to spend part of a Sunday morning baking.  And, I was delighted by these cookies.  I wasn’t expecting something this delightful to enter my mouth.  Obviously, I need to make a trip to Sun Street Breads when I’m in Minneapolis next.

crusher-cookies

Crusher Cookies

1 c unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 c sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
1 Tbsp honey
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
18 small pretzels, crushed into 1-inch pieces
12 sugar cones, crushed into 1-inch pieces
1/2 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter, sugars, honey, and vanilla until smooth.

Add the eggs and mix until lumpy.  Using a rubber spatula, scrape down the bowl, then continue beating at medium speed until mixture is smooth.

In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Add to the butter mixture and mix on low speed until just combined, scraping down the bowl once or twice to make sure it is evenly incorporated.

Add pretzel and sugar cone pieces and mix on low speed until just combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Using a medium ice-cream scoop, place dough on lined baking sheets, leaving 2 inches between cookies.  Flatten each scoop of dough slightly, then bake for 12 minutes or until evenly browned.  Cool on racks; store in airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Crusher Cookies

  1. Pingback: Kit Kat Bars |

Leave a Reply

