Sauteed Brussels Sprouts with Cinnamon and Grapes

After a heavy week of eating lunch in the dining hall, where I am lucky to have an abundance of healthy options, I was looking for some vegetables for dinner.  I found this somewhat unusual recipe for sauteed brussels sprouts in the Farm Fresh Flavors cookbook and knew I had to try making it.  It was a quick saute after working all day and only took a few minutes to throw together, which was a plus on a busy night of meetings.  More importantly, however, it used cinnamon, which I had never added to my sprouts before and I could hardly think of anything more exciting than this.

I was surprised by how much I liked the recipe once I cooked it.  I don’t know that it is my new standard for how to make sprouts, but definitely a recipe worth having in the rotation.

 

sauteed-brussels-sprouts-with-cinnamon-and-grapes

Sauteed Brussels Sprouts with Cinnamon and Grapes

1 lb brussels sprouts, shredded or shaved
1 c red grapes, cut in half
1 Tbsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley
salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp butter or olive oil

Melt the butter or heat the oil in medium high heat in a shallow thick-bottomed pan.  Add the shredded sprouts and saute lightly while stirring and tossing. It’s okay to brown them a little, but the idea is to just warm them.  Sprinkle in the cinnamon and season with salt and pepper.  Toss with the cut grapes and chopped parsley.

Leave a Reply

