Baked Sweet Potato Salad with Maple and Lime

When my friend was visiting last month, I knew I wanted to cook seasonally.  He’s big into cooking and the environment as well, so it generally works out pretty well to have some deliciousness that matches what is happening.  In addition to the sweet and smoky chicken and bread pudding, I threw together this baked sweet potato salad that had been on my recipe for a few weeks.

I found this recipe in the Farm Fresh Flavors cookbook, which was on my kindle.  I believe this is a kindle unlimited recipe, if you have the kindle reading app and are a prime member.  There are a few recipes in that book that I can’t wait to try.  I liked this recipe.  It reminded me of some other sweet potato recipes I’ve tried, but it was a good addition to the meal.  And the maple flavor was a nice addition to compliment the sweet potato without getting overly sweet.

Baked Sweet Potato Salad with Maple and Lime.jpg

Baked Sweet Potato Salad with Maple and Lime

2 lbs fresh sweet potatoes
4 Tbsp maple syrup
3 Tbsp orange juice
3 Tbsp lime juice
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 c olive oil
1/2 c chopped cilantro
2 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
1 1/2 c crushed or chopped tomatoes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Pierce sweet potatoes with fork in several places.  Bake in oven for 30 to 45 minutes until potatoes are soft when you squeeze them.  Let them cool completely.  Peel and cut potatoes in 1/2 inch cubes.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine maple syrup, orange and lime juice, salt and pepper, olive oil, herbs and ginger.  Whisk until well-blended and frothy.  Add the potatoes to the bowl and toss with the dressing.

Let marinate in refrigerator for at least an hour.  Toss tomatoes with potatoes and serve on a bed of leaf lettuce or spinach.

Leave a Reply

