Cheese Nut Balls

It’s not a surprise to frequent readers of this blog that when I find a recipe in a church or community cookbook with some unusual ingredients, I generally want to try making it.  This recipe is no different.  I came across the recipe for Cheese Nut Balls in our family cookbook and while I don’t know my second cousin once removed who submitted the recipe all that well, I couldn’t help but try these cookies.

You’ll see as you read the recipe that there is a filling which gets a little stickier.  I wasn’t thinking when I started baking and neglected to put down parchment paper on the first batch of baking, but once I did, this recipe became a winner.  It’s a little unexpected and comes together a little differently than most cookies I bake.  In addition, it’s not overly sweet.  So, if you’re looking for something a little outside the box, I’d include this on your list!

Cheese Nut Balls.jpg

Cheese Nut Balls

1/3 c butter or  margarine, softened
1/2 c powdered sugar
1 c sm curd cottage cheese, drained
1 c white flour
1/3 c whole wheat flour

Filling
1/2 c chopped nuts
1/3 c brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix first 5 ingredients in a food processor until a ball forms.  Chill for at least one hour.  Roll out into a rectangle.  Sprinkle the filling on dough (roll it into the dough, too).  Roll up like a jellyroll and cut into 2″ pieces.  Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes.  Cool.  Yield: 24.

Leave a Reply

