Wonky Log Cabin Complete!

Think back to 2009.  It was a great time.  I was living in Central Minnesota in a little house on Stratford in Avon, Minnesota with two amazing women, who have, indeed, persisted.  Relentlessly and without question.  I was with a great circle of friends.  And somehow, I decided that it was time for me to begin sewing again.  What is currently known as modern quilting was becoming vogue and I was getting connected, although it had been ten years prior to that since I had sewn with any skill or ability.  Charm packs were a new thing from this company called Moda and fabrics were unlike anything I had experienced.  There was a great craft store and an awesome quilt store and I loved it all.

I started reading blogs.  Lots and lots of blogs.  Some with recipes (obviously) and some from quilters who inspired me.  One of the favorites I came across was from a guy known as Quilt Dad.  Fast forward a couple months and Quilt Dad posted a tutorial for a Wonky Log Cabin block and I had a bunch of fat quarters that were calling my name for this quilt.  So, I started following the plan, and little-by-little I would sew together a few more blocks.  Add in three moves, a doctoral program, and infrequent reasons to pull out the sewing machine and this whole project when by the sidelines.  You may remember my posting about the progress of the blocks along the way: here, here, here, here, and here.

Then, about a year ago, I decided to finish the quilt up.  And when I started laying out the blocks, it was so busy.  And I wanted to slow it down a bit.  Break it up.  Help the log cabin blocks stand out and give a little bit more charm to the quilt.  Luckily, I had a bunch of fabric remaining, so I cut some large squares, cut up some sashing, and made a series of nine-patch quilts to break up the sashing.  It was massive.  Easily the biggest quilt I had made until this point.  There was no way I could machine quilt it myself and I didn’t know many people with longarms in the area.  So, I folded up the quilt top and set it on the sidelines.

Fast forward another 8 months and I have joined the local quilt guild with a friend of mine and decided that it was time to finish this quilt, now nicknamed gigantor, up.  I searched the guild web site and found Dawn, who was willing to take on this challenge.  And, now, the quilt is finally finished.

image3image2image1

Leave a Reply

