Ginger Cream Bars

This was one of those family recipes I found in the cookbook and couldn’t wait to try.  I had no idea if they would taste good, but I’ve been on a bit of a ginger kick lately, and so it seemed like a great time to try them out.  The fact that the recipe had my grandma’s name on it made it all the more appealing.  Although I was in high school when my grandma passed away, she had been in a nursing home for 12 years.  We visited her frequently, but when my cousins would tell stories of running to her house to get cookies after mass on Sundays, that was not a part of my memory with her.  When an opportunity comes along to try and recreate some of the experience she created for them, I almost always want to take advantage.

Ginger Cream Bars.jpg

Ginger Cream Bars

1 c sugar
2/3 c molasses
1 tsp baking soda in 1 c cold coffee
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 c shortening (scant)
2 eggs
3 c flour
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg

Cream shortening, sugar, molasses, eggs.  Add dry ingredients alternately with coffee.  Spread in large cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees.  Frost with thin powdered sugar icing while still warm.

Leave a Reply

