Chocolate Chip Blizzards

Despite a lack of snow on the ground this winter — we had tornado warnings in Iowa on March 6 — this recipe for Chocolate Chip Blizzards looked intriguing when I found it in a community cookbook (Trail Blazers: Favorite Recipes of the Sierra Cedar-Wapsie Group) a few weeks ago.  What makes this recipe different?  There is a can of condensed cheddar cheese soup in the cookies.  Seriously.  Did that used to be a thing people did?  I don’t see recipes that call for this frequently.  But, I had to try it.  My first question was, did two recipes get stuck together, and therefore I was mixing up a recipe that should never have been?  But, the recipe ingredients AND the directions gave mention to the soup, so it had to be planned.  I wondered…will I be able to taste the cheese?  How does that affect the consistency?  When I take them into work, will people notice?  And the answer is, for the most part, folks didn’t notice.  These are a moister and chewier cookie than most.  But, nothing that raised the red flag in terms of tasting cheese in them.  I don’t know that they were so over the top that I’ll make them again, but I enjoy being able to talk about that one time I made cookies with cheese in them and nobody knew…

Chocolate Chip Blizzards

Chocolate Chip Blizzards

2 c dark brown sugar (packed)
1 c shortening
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
11 oz can cheddar cheese soup
2 1/2 c flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp nutmeg
3 c oatmeal
1 c chocolate chips
1 c chopped walnuts

Cream sugar, shortening, eggs, and vanilla.  Stir in soup.  Add dry ingredients sifted together.  Mix in oatmeal.  Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts.  Drop by tablespoons onto a greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

