Curry Cabbage Salad

We’ve had a couple of funerals at church lately, for the oldest member of the parish, and for a young member.  When someone passes at my parish, there is a call out for salads and desserts, and with one of the more recent funerals, they were needing more salads.  So, I pulled out my trusty cookbooks from Iowa and started looking for something that would be suitable.  I found a recipe for a curry cabbage salad that looked intriguing.  Perhaps it was because of a discussion about curry at lunch that week and how much better fresh curry is than what is in most Iowa cupboards.  I also think the mayo that is used can make a huge difference, and I’ve started really enjoying Sir Kensington’s mayonnaise for my cooking.

This recipe was from The Spice of Life Cookbook from the Cedar Falls American Association of University Women. I ended up taking some home for the weekend with me to see my parents and my dad declared it was his favorite new coleslaw recipe.  While I don’t know that I’d go that far, it does have a nice and slightly unusual flavor, but not in a way that is overpowering.

Curry Cabbage Salad.jpg

Curry Cabbage Salad

6 c shredded cabbage or use 1 bag prepared coleslaw mix
1/2 c raisins
1 1/2 c roasted, unsalted peanuts
1 c Miracle Whip or other mayonnaise
2 Tbsp vinegar
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp curry powder

Toss cabbage, raisins, and peanuts in a bowl.  Mix together mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, and curry powder.  Mix this with the cabbage mixture.

One thought on “Curry Cabbage Salad

Leave a Reply

