Pancetta-Wrapped Asparagus with Citronette

For this year’s Easter celebration at our house, I was put in charge of the vegetable.  After tossing around a few different ideas about what this vegetable might be, I landed on asparagus.  I’m always one to go a little outside of the box (sometimes a lot outside of the box) and since we served beef for the holiday, I thought I should bring the pork in somewhere.  So, when I was flipping through a cookbook from Food and Wine and came across this recipe for Pancetta-Wrapped Asparagus with Citronette, I knew it was the one.  It was a little salty for my taste and I’m unsure whether that was the pancetta I purchased or the salt in the dressing, so in a future edition, I’d likely leave the salt out of the dressing and go with the basics.

Pancetta-Wrapped Asparagus with Citronette.jpg

Pancetta-Wrapped Asparagus with Citronette

2 pounds medium asparagus
1/2 pound very thinly sliced pancetta
Finely grated zest and juice of 1 orange
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 teaspoons chopped thyme

Tightly wrap each asparagus spear in a slice of pancetta and refrigerate until chilled, about 20 minutes.

Light a grill or preheat a grill pan. In a small bowl, stir the orange zest and juice with the mustard and olive oil; season with salt and pepper. Grill the asparagus over moderate heat, turning often, until they are just tender and the pancetta is crisp, about 5 minutes total. Transfer the asparagus to a platter and drizzle with the dressing. Sprinkle with the thyme and serve.

Leave a Reply

