Blackberry Spinach Salad

Summer is here!  With that, it’s salad season and I found several recipes I had written down for salads in one location or another.  This (very simple) recipe for blackberry spinach salad ended my day with some brightness and cheerfulness after several days of eating a quick meal here or there and whatever I could so glamorously shove in my mouth to either a) stay awake or b) provide some brief sustenance.  Then, as I planted my garden and saw the lettuce and spinach starting to appear, as well as some blackberry bushes I planted last year, I remembered this recipe and knew I wanted to put it together the next night.

Blackberry Spinach Salad

Blackberry Spinach Salad

3 cups baby spinach, rinsed and dried
1 pint fresh blackberries (or substitute strawberries, etc…)
6 ounces crumbled goat cheese
1 green onion, sliced
1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)

In a large bowl, toss together baby spinach, blackberries, goat cheese, green onion, and walnuts.  Serve with balsamic vinaigrette dressing

Leave a Reply

