Best Smoked Pulled Pork

I have mentioned my intentions for making more ice cream this summer.  About the same time I obtained the ice cream maker, I also acquired a smoker, which I haven’t used often enough.  I blame it on not being home all the time and rarely having a day when I’m here most of the day, but that might not be legitimate.  Either way, using the smoker has not been something I’ve done frequently.  There’s also the possibility that I’ll never be as good as my dad, just like there are a few recipes my mom makes that I refuse to do because I can’t get it quite right…

I decided to try and use the smoker a little more and when pork was on sale, I bought a pork shoulder and found this recipe on the Sweet C’s Designs website.  It was really good.  It had a nice amount of bark, and I really appreciated the additional flavor offered by the cardamom and cinnamon.  I heard on a podcast a couple weeks ago about the role of cardamom in recipes and this seemed like a fun way to add it.

So, for a week, I snacked on this pork.  I added it to eggs, salads, sandwiches, and ate it on its own.

Best Smoked Pulled Pork

Best Smoked Pulled Pork

1 pork shoulder or Boston butt
2 Tbsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp onion powder
2 Tbsp seasoning salt
2 Tbsp ground pepper
3 Tbsp paprika
3 Tbsp chili powder
2 Tbsp cumin
2 Tbsp celery salt
2 Tbsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp cardamom

Mix ingredients except for pork together in a bowl.  Remove the pork from package, pat dry with paper towels and allow to come to room temperature.  Apply rub and refrigerate overnight.  Soak wood chips overnight in water.

Remove meat from refrigerator and allow to come to room temperature.  Prepare smoker.  When coals are glowing and gray, add the pork to the smoker.  Keep the meat as far from the fire as possible.  Add a handful of wet wood chips/block to fire.  Cover and let cook.  You’ll want to keep your temperature between 200 and 225 degrees.  It should take 12-14 hours to smoke a 7-10 pound butt.

Cook until meat is at least 185 degrees, but it will pull apart easier if it gets to 205 degrees.

One thought on “Best Smoked Pulled Pork

Leave a Reply

