Roasted Chicken with Rhubarb and Tarragon

This rarely happens, but this is one of the recipes that I felt like turned out as nicely as the photo in the cookbook, so that makes my day, if nothing else!

I received the cookbook, Scandinavian Comfort Food from my sister and her family for my birthday last month and when I opened the cookbook, I opened it up to this recipe for roasted chicken with rhubarb and tarragon and immediately knew I was going to cook it.  And, with haste, because rhubarb was in season.  Literally, within four days of receiving the gift, I had made this chicken and it did not disappoint.

I had not previously done much cooking and not baking with rhubarb, to eat it in a way that was more savory and less sweets.  I enjoyed it so much and was glad to eat it throughout the week.  I couldn’t find fresh tarragon, so I used dried tarragon and chicken thighs, rather than a whole chicken.

Roasted Chicken with Rhubarb and Tarragon

Roasted Chicken with Rhubarb and Tarragon

1 organic or free-range chicken
2 shallots
3 garlic cloves, halved
10 tarragon sprigs
1 lb 2 oz rhubarb
1/2 c sugar
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the chicken into 8 pieces, and the shallots into wedges.  Put the chicken pieces in an ovenproof dish with the shallot wedges, garlic, and tarragon.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast in the oven for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, cut the rhubarb into 3/4 in chunks and mix with the sugar in a bowl.  Take the chicken out after its 30 minutes of roasting and place the rhubarb around and under the chicken.  Put back in the oven and roast for another 20 minutes.  Check to see if the chicken is done and if not, roast 5-10 minutes more.

Leave a Reply

