Rosemary Infused Pear Sorbet

Despite my frequent and weekly posting of ice cream, along with a number of other sweets posted over the past few weeks, I have been trying to cut back on my sugar intake over the last several weeks.  As a result, I’ve been looking for some frozen dishes that use less sugar, and this recipe that has a little bit of honey, meets expectations.  The recipe came from the Empowered Sustenance website.  When I go to take a bite, I have to remember that it isn’t going to be sweet.  It’s a bit like when I go to drink hipster water (LaCroix), I need to remember it’s not going to have the sweetness of soda.  Similarly, when I go to drink unsweetened iced tea, it’s not going to taste like Crystal Light.  But, as long as I go in with this mindset, the sorbet tastes like a great ending to a meal.  The rosemary does not come through strongly — it’s a slight undertone to the recipe.

Rosemary Infused Pear Sorbet.jpg

Rosemary Infused Pear Sorbet

4 big pears (or 5 small)
1/2 c water
1/2 Tbsp honey
1 sprig fresh rosemary

Peel and cut the pears into small pieces.  Place all the ingredients in a pot over medium-low heat.  Boil 10 minutes, or until the pears are soft.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Remove the rosemary sprig and transfer into a food processor.  Blend for 20 seconds or until smooth.  Transfer to a bowl and place in the refrigerator to chill.

Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for ice cream.

Leave a Reply

