Crockpot Pad Thai

I absolutely love Thai food.  I don’t think there is anything I enjoy more than Thai food.  I can hardly believe I only started to eat it within the last 10 years.  But, then again, in my home town there wasn’t much beyond meat and potatoes food, and it’s been fun to try different types of food and enjoy them.  I have gradually moved beyond using salt, pepper, and ketchup for flavorings.  I’ve learned to love spicy food and appreciate the sweetness Thai food has to offer.  Well, since moving here I have not yet found Thai food I love and while it’s something I’ve always wanted to learn to make, I have not yet had a chance.  So, I decided to try making it.  I found a great recipe while surfing the web and modified it a bit to match my needs.
I enjoyed the slight modifications I made and how it tasted, but I really enjoyed what happened when I reheated it on the stovetop in a little bit of oil. I made the mistake of using honey roasted peanut butter, so it had a little different flavor than I would have preferred, but I would absolutely make this again.
Modified from: The Stay at Home Chef

Crockpot Pad Thai.jpg

Crock-pot Chicken Pad Thai
Yield: 6 to 8 servings
5 chicken thighs (or 2 chicken breasts — depending what’s on sale)
4 Tbsp soy sauce
⅛ C fish sauce
¾ C peanut butter
2 Tbsp packed brown sugar
7 cloves garlic, minced
3 t ginger
1 T rice wine vinegar
1 ¼ C chicken stock
1/8 t white pepper
1 T siracha chili paste
1 bunch green onions, chopped
3 carrots, julienne sliced
1 package rice noodles
Red pepper flakes

Combine everything in crockpot but chicken, green onions, carrots, rice noodles, and the garnishes.  Mix together.  Add chicken, cover, and cook 4 hours.  Use a fork or the back of a spoon to pull chicken apart and shred it naturally.  Add green onions and carrots and cook 1 more hour.  Add rice noodles and 3-4 c water or chicken broth and continue cooking for 30 minutes.  Watch and add more water as needed.  Add red pepper flakes for heat.
Squeeze lime juice and cilantro over the noodles for serving and provide flavor.

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Pad Thai

  1. Sally JoJo says:

    I love Thai food too. I hope since this posting you have ventured further into cooking it. Would love to try this, one question, are you cooking on high or low in the crockpot?

    Thanks!

Leave a comment